Thread: Help with carb problems

Default Help with carb problems

hey there.. i'm new to this and I'm looking for help or maybe someone can point me' in which direction to take.. I have a 67 scout with 2 barrel holley carb. Its been sitting for about a year until i got it out a month ago to start restoration project.. in that month.. i've replaced plugs and plug wires.. the problem i'm having is when i pull the choke out to crank, it fires right up and runs idles fine.. however, as soon as i push choke in, the engine dies... i cant get it to crank unless i pull choke out... i have checked for leaks around the base of carb but i dont see anywhere its leaking.. can someone give this novice mechanic any ideas to isolate my problem so I can get this baby up and running.. summer's coming!! thanks...

Before one of the senior members chimes in I'll tell you what I think since I have been dealing with carb trouble myself.

I'm no expert but it seem to me like the idle circut within the metering block/ main well is likely blocked keeping it from idling. You are bypassing this circut when you have the choke out which increases idle speed as well. I have heard that the 2 barrel Holleys tend to clog up. Will it run if you give it gas to keep the rpm up and push in the choke?

You could get a rebuild kit and take the carb apart and clean it out with carb cleaner and put it back together and see what happens and if it doens't work have a professional clean and rebuild it for you.

The guys are going to want to know what carb you have most likely so see if you can find the model numbers and google that to see what it is.

Read the stuff written about my 800B with a 232 post. There is good info in there.

Good luck.