Thread: Fueling problem and fuel line Q?

Question Fueling problem and fuel line Q?

OK, so I am deciding to finish the electric fuel pump that the previous owner put in the ScoutII but I first need to drop the tank and take a look at what I am looking at. He states that no fuel is able to move from the tank, when dropping the tank skid plate and hitting the tank it sounds empty. He has cut the fuel line from the tank to the mechanical pump and due to this the mechanical pump lines are clogged with mud nests. So I was thinking of dropping the tank, take my air hose and test for leaks, look inside the tank and look for clogs... If I find that the line is busted somewhere my question is, what -an size is the fuel line?? And from my "story" any expert advice is greatly appreciated as I am a self taught but not ignorant mechanic...(I know when to ask for advice ) ANY advice is welcome, I was already told by, I think okkool, and Allan some good advice on how to run the pump properly, just looking for some things I should also take care of or watch for...

Sorry about the long paragraph, THANKS guys!!

AJ

I'm not sure if you're wanting to keep your lines the stock dia. but when I had to re-route/run new fuel line I spent my few bucks and bought some of the 3/8" ID fuel line from Napa. Ran it off the tank to my fuel pump and just cut out all of the old shit that was cracking on me. If your tank is all gunked up you could always install a 22 gal fuel cell for a couple hundred bones.
    '71 Basterd Scout 2
    with a 258 from a '73 CJ5
    Intake manifold with NHRA markings....go figure

"Its (scout) four-wheel-drive capabilities are equal to anything this side of full tracks"

David H. Petraeus for President 2012

Thanks again Kool! I may go with 3/8" ID. I dropped the tank today, did they put enough lines for venting?! All those lines that run up into that plastic piece behind that acess panel, what is the function of that?