Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: windshield wipers - 77 Scout II

Default windshield wipers - 77 Scout II

I'm very new to scouts and haven't purchased a manual yet. The wipers don't work; you turn the knob and nothing happens. This is the first thing I need to fix because it rains alot in Seattle! Where do you guys think I should start with fixing this problem?

Thanks

What have you checked thus far? Have you confirmed that you have power all the way to the switch? If you have power to the switch, have you pulled it out and checked the connections going to the motor? Does power get to the motor? Any burning smells?

Quote Originally Posted by Seattle Scout View Post
    I'm very new to scouts and haven't purchased a manual yet. The wipers don't work; you turn the knob and nothing happens. This is the first thing I need to fix because it rains alot in Seattle! Where do you guys think I should start with fixing this problem?

Thanks
    1. Check for POWER at the switch, and also check to see if the connector is loose. If no power, check the fuse. If power, continue to step 2.
    2. The switch has a built in circuit breaker with auto reset. Is it still working? Dead? To check it, you remove all but the power feed and test to see if it's producing an output.
    3. John Fleck is in Bremerton at Back Country Binders. He may have a replacement of what you need laying around in a parts rig he can sell you. If it's just the fuse, don't call John (or another vendor, I have no ax to grind, good or bad) yet, just replace it and start over with your checks. After that, you may find a problem that will require a replacement part.

Hope that helps.

Edit: Don't forget, you need wiper blades in place or you will rip up the windshield. Don't ask me how I found that out...
    Allan E.
    Curmudgeon Extraordinaire
    Charter Member, Old Hippie IH Club
    Old fashioned binder freak