Thread: 345 water pump problems

Default 345 water pump problems

I put a new water pump on my 345 and about 200 miles later it started dripping and my coolant was all brown. Now it will not even hold coolant and obviously I need to pull it off again. I need a little help on what I did wrong and how to do it properly. While installing the new one I had the radiator cleaned and checked so I know it is good to go. Thanks for the help.

Default water pump

I bought it from SSS so I will find out... either way I am going to have to get a new one. Would the dirty coolant in the block have caused my problems? I just assumed after I pulled the radiator and the water pump that would have been enough, but that is why I am not a mechanic!

Hi,

The previous reply was right on. Flush the engine. Was the leak from the shaft seal or from the gasket? I would be surprised that anything would give up the ghost, that quickly, if it were a quality part. Was your new water pump really new or was it rebuilt? Clean threads and torque nuts and bolts.
    Make sure when it is back together that you make sure that you have proper
    flow, a new thermostat and that all hoses are in good shape.

Good luck,

KB-14