Thread: Ignition Specs

Default Ignition Specs

Im new to scouts I have a 76 Travler which i Love and i Had to install a different motor and its missing so im going to do a tune-up on it. But i can't find any Specs for it i was just wondering if some could help. I would like to know what the best spark plug and the gap, the timing and dwell, and the point gap your help well be very apprciated.

Quote Originally Posted by BLACKATTACK76 View Post
    Im new to scouts I have a 76 Travler which i Love and i Had to install a different motor and its missing so im going to do a tune-up on it. But i can't find any Specs for it i was just wondering if some could help. I would like to know what the best spark plug and the gap, the timing and dwell, and the point gap your help well be very apprciated.
    Which engine did you install?

Did you use the old distributor? They stopped using points beginning in 75. If you have points, set the dwell at 30 degrees, plus or minus 2 degrees. That's pretty typical for a V8.

Best plug for an SV series IH engine (266,304,345,392) is the Autolite 85.
    Best timing depends on which engine and at what elevation. Use 650 for your final warm idle speed when you time it and tweek the carb.
    Allan E.
    Curmudgeon Extraordinaire
    Charter Member, Old Hippie IH Club
    Old fashioned binder freak

Yes I used the '73 distributor. I installed a 304 out of a '73 Pickup, had no idea i would have to swap so many things. Let me guess the coils different from '73 and '76 aren't they? I live at about 1100 ft to 1500ft of elevation. Any advice on how I can get that darn distributer loose.
    Last edited by BLACKATTACK76; 08-18-2009 at 01:09 AM.

Yes I used the '73 distributor. I installed a 304 out of a '73 Pickup, had no idea i would have to swap so many things. Let me guess the coils different from '73 and '76 aren't they? I live at about 1100 ft to 1500ft of elevation. Any advice on how I can get that darn distributer loose.