Thread: Reverse rotation?

Default Reverse rotation?

I read somewhere that Scouts came with a possible reverse rotation front axle, is that true,...? And if it is true haha how can you tell if you happen to have one?

A little explanation on why you would want reverse rotation would be cool to

Thanks in advance folks
    -72 Scout2 - SBC350 with RV camshaft, 4 speed manual Trans, D20 xfer case with CV drive shafts.
    -Dana 44 Detroit locker rear.
    -Dana 44 (out of a 75) Rebuilt /w trutrac limited slip frnt

~Conquest is not in our principles. It is inconsistent with our government.

~T.J.

First post on this board, but I have been a mechanic for 15 years. I don't know if the IH vehicles ever came with a reverse rotation or high pinion, as it is commonly known, front axle. I will explain how to tell. A standard rotation or low pinion axle will have the pinion below the centerline of the axle, a reverse rotation or high pinion axle will have the pinion above the centerline of the axle. Hope this helps.

Yup , its def a regular. All i needed to know, thank you sir
    -72 Scout2 - SBC350 with RV camshaft, 4 speed manual Trans, D20 xfer case with CV drive shafts.

~T.J.

U R welcome.
    I Timothy 1:12 "And I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who hath enabled me, for that he counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry;"

JOE

the only reason i have heard for reverse rotation is if you are putting portals on your axles.

http://www.portal-tek.com/cart/index...products_id=14

the only reason i have heard for revers rotation on axles is for portal axles. check out portal-tek website. i tried to post the link but binder bulletin is blocking.

Here is the site I get using Google:

http://www.portal-tek.com/