Thread: New to Scout Diesels

Default New to Scout Diesels

I am new to the Scout diesel world and was wondering what I should be on the lookout for with my engine. I have a 78 Scout II with the sd 33 (non turbo) and I know it is not original to my Scout. It looks like the PO added several different things and was wondering if I could get some engine bay pics of what one should look like. (having trouble finding them online). I would also like to know if there are any qwerks I should be on the lookout for. I have never owned a diesel of any kind, so this is a new adventure on all fronts. Thanks in advance.

There's a couple pix of mine on some of the earlier posts in the diesel section. If you need more specific ones I'd be more than happy to go get some; just let me know what specifically you want to see.

As far as what to look out for; they're pretty cold-blooded engines. Mine has never run over 200 degrees even on a warm day. You might want to run a compression check on your cylinders, as it's quite common for the head to crack between the valves. Cracks between the valves are within factory tolerances, but when I got mine it was also cracked from the valve out to the side of the head, so it's something to look for. Also you'll want to check your glow plugs. Mine is kind of an ether-baby because the glow plugs are bad. But if yours starts without much trouble, then they're probably OK.

These engines definitely weren't built for speed or high RPM's, either. Your top speed on the highway is probably going to be around 65-70 if you're lucky.