Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What all is involved in doing a lift?

Default What all is involved in doing a lift?

I'll admit up front that I'm a total newbie so please, bear with me. :-) I'd like to put a 4 inch lift on a '79 Terra... A suspension lift, I think :-) A set of springs, U-bolts, shocks, etc... Told you I was a complete newbie. :-) I was curious to hear what kits you recommend (Rough Country for example, others?). What other things would have to be modified on the Terra for a 4" suspension lift (steering components? brake lines?, driveline parts?). What are your thoughts on suspension lifts versus body lifts? Any info. would be much appreciated.

In my opinion, I prefer the spring lift because of the floating body look you get with a body lift. Also, I have read in other forums, seeing how I have not installed my lift yet, that a spring lift helps with the handling. Hope this helps.

Suspension is the way to go, I've installed many lifts and even one on my buddies scout. It was a 4" and it was the easiest lift I've ever installed. Stay away from the body lifts, too much involved to make them look good. If I remember right there was no relocating of lines involved in the scout 4" lift. If you have ever used a wrench and get the instructions with the lift, you can easily install your lift yourself.

It just so happens I have a 79 terra. I did a spring over axle lift and it was the best thing I ever did. The only bad thing is I have some front driveling bind. Now I have the front housing out and am doing a cut and turn on it for caster and driveline angle correction. I ran for a few years with just a spring over and welded spiders though and was unstopable.

Hi all,
    I was just surfing the web for information on this and found this forum very helpful so far.
    I have an 80 Terra that im just about done getting back into working condition and I'm also looking at putting on a 4" and hopefully 33's on it and I was just wondering how this lift went?