Thread: 78 scout 2 real bad body help!!!!!

Default 78 scout 2 real bad body help!!!!!

HI,
    HAVE A 78 SCOUT 2. 304,727, CHAIN TRANSFER. RESCUED IT FROM A JUNK YARD 4 YRS AGO. YOU ALL HAVE BEEN HELPFUL AS I'VE WORKED ON MECHANICS WHICH ARE IN PRETTY GOOD SHAPE NOW. BUT I'M AT A CROSSROADS. THE BODY IS JUNK. I'M NOT OUT TO SHOW RESTORE THIS TRUCK, BUT THERE'S NOTHING TO WORK WITH. PO PATCHED OVER FLOORS; ALL CENTER TUB CROSS BRACKETS,ETC. ARE SHOT, PO HAS HOMEMADE BRACES WELDED IN, BODY MOUNTS ARE LOOSE OR MISSING(REPLACED WITH WOOD SHIMS) PO PATCH PANELED QUARTERS BUT ALSO BROUGHT PIECES OF ANOTHER TRUCK UP AND OVER INNER QUARTERS(i CAN'T TELL WHAT'S WHAT) ALL WHEEL WELLS ARE SHOT. I COULD TRY COSMETIC FIXES BUT THERE IS JUST TOO MUCH STUFF WRONG. I'VE BEEN DRIVING IT LIKE THIS FOR 4 YEARS(HIGHWAY SPEEDS) BUT I THINK, GOD FORBID, IF I GOT IN A WRECK, THE WHOLE BODY WOULD DISCONNECT. I DON'T WELD AND AM UNABLE TO DO WHAT I SEE YOU GUYS DO MYSELF. ALSO CAN'T PUT A FORTUNE IN THIS THING BUT I LIKE IT. IT'S 4 INCH LIFT AND HAS A GOOD LOOK TO IT. WILL TRY TO GET SOME PICTURES UP. ANY INPUT WOULD BE APPRECIATED. HOW HARD AND HOW MUCH $ TO PUT A FIBERGLAS BODY ON IT? WHO HAS THEM? ANY OTHER IDEAS ABOUT BODY I HAVE? ANY OTHER THOUGHTS? IF I SELL, HOW MUCH IS FAIR PRICE TO ASK? THANKS

Default Pictures

Here are pics. They show l rear quarter where there seems to be one piece of metal welded to another under tons of bondo. Both quarters are bulged from the center back almost like another piece of fender was put on top. Weld seams go over top of truck and down into inner quarter. Another shows patch floors welded on top of originals. Another shows some of bracing problems through r rear wheel opening. Rocker panels are new but not attached to any center tub supports,etc etc. You'll get the idea.
    Attached Images Attached Images

see if you can find another body to put on you frame. where in the country are you at?