Thread: brake conversion

Default brake conversion

greetings ,
    i'm new to the blog and new to team scout.
    i own a 73 scout II, it has drum brakes all around. what i want to know is, how can i put disk brakes on this? i'm also putting power steering and brake booster. more about those later.

Quote Originally Posted by 73 scout II View Post
    greetings ,
    i'm new to the blog and new to team scout.
    i own a 73 scout II, it has drum brakes all around. what i want to know is, how can i put disk brakes on this? i'm also putting power steering and brake booster. more about those later.
    The most simple (notice I did not say easy) conversion is to use the front axle from a later scout. Some 74 came with discs, and all 75 and later axles will bolt right in. The front axle was switched to a Dana 44 at that time as well.

You can also use the hardware from the disc brake scouts if you have open knuckles.

Obviously, you will want the master cylinder and other equipment, as they are different for the disc brake setup.
    Allan E.
    Curmudgeon Extraordinaire
    Charter Member, Old Hippie IH Club
    Old fashioned binder freak

Default tf 727 interest

greetings, thank you allan E. for your reply. im still in the early stages of all this. i bought A solid 73 last year and am slowly forming a direction to take it. i want to stay true to the era, make / model etc. but ,,,i want to add power brakes/ steering.converting to disk will have to wait for now. anyway my question today is where can i get a TF 727 to one day put in and shelf the manual that is in it now? as i get older the clutch knee will fade, so i am thinking to get ahold of the correct 727 now and save it for later. i saw an ad around here for one in point loma for 300. sounded cheap enough. im in oceanside myself. any insight you / any one could offer i would appreciate it. are we moving to the other site or no? - ha ha