Thread: Chevy axles, Spring-over lift

Default Chevy axles, Spring-over lift

So I've never done a spring over lift before and was thinking of doing it on my '77. I can get a hold of a good chevy axle from an old k5 blazer, but was wondering just how in-depth does it get to change out the gears in the differential? Is it legal to run wider axles than what came on the Scouts if I just find a good matching pair so I don't have to worry about matching the gear ratios?

OK Legality wise.. I wouldn't worry too much about the wider axles, im here in California and my brothers and my jeep we bought a couple years ago has no flares, and the tires must stick 4-5" out, Im sure TECHNICALLY its illegal.. but i doubt most cops care, shit im in San Luis obispo and theyve never stopped us.. and they have NOTHING to do .

As for your spring over question, ive done it with the scout axles. Hardest part is defeintey modifying the housing. I don't really like em sticking out much more than an inch. To beef them up since they are only 44's i plan on building a custom truss for the front and I have a nice axle truss for the back as well. Eventually i might just get a d60 tho...

And u asked about changing the gear ratios.. everyone i have talked to says its easy to put gears in, but its very hard to get them "back lashed" perfectly and ull just be ruining rings and pinions way prematurely so that's something Ive never done myself and always gone to American Gear that we have in town

I actually just tack welded my perches on today. Gonna take it to a friend who has a spot welder and hes gonna weld it up for me since the one on the housing is welding milled / cast steel it is a very hard weld, also they don't line up because u have to modify the pumpkin quite substantially to get the leaf to the same height...

im prolly forgetting some stuff ask any questions u got haha

And for your entertainment, here's my cat gibsy in a drawer
    Attached Images Attached Images