Thread: 1979 Scout II 345 problems

Default 1979 Scout II 345 problems

Greetings! I'm new to the International Scout world. I purchased a 79 Scout II about a year ago. I'm very pleased with the original 345 and have no desire to swap out this engine. When I bought the Scout, the 345 engine had a problem. The engine would start up just fine but when you shift into drive and apply pressure to the accelerator the engine wanted to die or hesitate. Sometimes it would die, and sometimes I would have to press down a little more on the accelerator to stop it from stalling. The engine has 123k mi and 727 transmission is in great shape, bands are not worn at all.
    What I have done to try and fix the problem:
    I have replaced the distributor and coil with a NEW Malory setup, and replaced the carburetor with a NEW Holley 670 w/2in lift. The timing is correct, used cylinder 8.
    With the replacement of the above NEW parts, the problem remains unchanged.

A pressure test revealed 50-60 PSI. (I used two different testers with the same results) I think this is extremely low and requires about 90-110, but have been unable to confirm this.

If this is to low, do I need to pull and rebuild?

Overall the engine performs well when driving in first/second/third gear and kick down works the power band beautifully. Only takeoff is the problem.

At this moment I'm very confused on how to fix this problem.
    Please help, I love my Scout!

You're right, 50-60 lbs of compression is way too low. In fact, I can't believe it would run at all like that.

When you did the compression test, did you have the throttle blocked wide open?

More important, what is your vacuum reading at idle, about 650 rpms?

When you set the timing, how much advance did you give it at idle.

More important, what is the advance at 2000 rpms?

What is your idle speed?
    Allan E.
    Curmudgeon Extraordinaire
    Charter Member, Old Hippie IH Club
    Old fashioned binder freak

Default Update